Christmas Eve Dinner

So, except for some foot pain (I was on my feet nearly all day!), the dinner was a success!

I bought some ready-to-eat shrimp and cocktail sauce as part of the appetizers. When we actually sat down, I prepared Mark Bittman’s Broiled Mussels with Pernod Butter. I was able to pre-make it and store it outside (no room in the frig!) until they were ready to be broiled. I boiled the mussels in white cooking wine first, then made and applied the butter sauce. I admit – I’m not a huge fan of Pernod (which tastes like anise) – so I just left it out. The recipe called for bread crumbs, so I used 4C’s gluten-free bread crumbs. Fortunately, they are cheaper in my local grocery store than on this website! Anyways, these bread crumbs are fabulous! And the mussels were absolutely fabulous! Unfortunately I forgot to take a picture.

The next thing I made was the Ahi Tuna Avocado Salad with Wasabi Vinaigrette. Unfortunately, I can’t find the original recipe. Most of the recipes online only have Ahi tuna that is seared. After the salad, I served Mark Bittman’s Clams in Broth with Roasted Garlic. Easy to make and just as good!

Clams in Garlic Broth

Then came the final dish – Rick Stein’s Maryland Crab Cakes with a Tarragon and Butter Sauce. Again, I used 4C’s gluten-free bread crumbs instead of the saltine crackers the author lists in the ingredients. Yum yum!

GF crab cakes

There are tomatoes in the sauce. You can easily substitute canned diced tomatoes for the plum tomato in the recipe.

Although I love cooking this meal, I was so glad it was over, as I was very tired! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Christmas Eve Dinner

  1. Looks and sounds delicious!
    However, it’s not like the traditional Polish Christmas Eve Meal.
    We’ve got beetroot soup with wild mashroom ravioli or mashroom soup followed by various fish dishes and vegetable dishes and then sweets.
    I’m looking forward to meeting you again an the Blogging 101 :)))

    Like

    • I have celiac disease, which means I can’t eat wheat, rye, and barley. So I usually cook fish that I can’t eat in a restaurant, since I’m making the meal. We do serve pierogies and sledze. 🙂

      Like

Have a crazy thought? Please share!

