Clocks aren’t supposed to stand still like that (Writing Prompt)

In response to A Writer’s Path Writing Prompts: Court Jester – Begin a scene with this line: Clocks aren’t supposed to stand still like that.

From Morguefile.com by user pippalou.

I looked at the clock. The hands weren’t moving. Clocks aren’t supposed to stand still like that, I thought. I examined the grandfather clock carefully.

“What does your watch say?” I asked Dave, who was busy at his desk. He shuffled papers around before checking his watch.

“10:55 a.m.,” he answered. I turned toward him.

“Are you sure?” I gestured toward his watch. “Please check again.”

Dave looked at the watch carefully. “It seems it’s set permanently at 10:55 a.m. I guess I’ll have to change the batteries.”

I walked to the window. Some people had stopped in their tracks and were pointing up. Up where? At the Town Hall, where Big Ben 2 was located? The clock was nicknamed “Big Ben 2,” after London’s clock, when it was revealed how expensive the town clock had cost. What was happening? Was time actually stopping?

The gongs of the grandfather clock jolted me awake. 11 o’clock in the morning. Had I fallen asleep and dreamed this entire, weird event? I looked at the clock.

9 thoughts on “Clocks aren’t supposed to stand still like that (Writing Prompt)

Have a crazy thought? Please share!

