A plot of earth

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: You’re given a plot of land and have the financial resources to do what you please. What’s the plan?

I love animals. I would build a large barn and have a couple of horses. I used to ride when I was a child, and I took lessons into my adult years, but I’ve been unable to do that for some time now. The barn would not be just for the horses; I would love to be able to house cats there as well. I would take in unwanted cats (spayed and neutered, of course), up to 20 or 25.

My next project would be a chicken coop. This structure would have to be fenced in due to the aforementioned cats. A garden would also be a necessity – actually, several, since I’d have an herb garden (filled with thyme, mint, oregano, rosemary, parsley, and lavender), a vegetable garden (tomatoes, cucumbers, garlic, lettuce, peppers, to name a few), and a flower garden. I would hope that the land had firs on it – I love pine trees.

There would be dogs as well – one cannot live without at least one dog – and maybe a few other creatures.

There would be a lake in which the dogs and I could swim. I would try to make the land as lush and green as possible, along with a home that could hold any friends that would visit. This is my dream.

Image by user  quicksandala from Morguefile.com.

Image by user
quicksandala from Morguefile.com.

15 thoughts on “A plot of earth

    • Lets put pictures up this spring. I am planning on exploring my connection to my little garden. I had become disconnected from nature. The need to connect to the natural processes and my roots bubbled up out of me some years ago. It began with making wine. I had usually grown a tomato or some basil in a pot but and couple years ago I got a little more serious about a little vegetable garden. Have been experimenting with containers and a raised bed.

      Like

  1. I always thought if I won the lottery and got a huge piece of land, I would have a animal rescue place and would hire a full time vet (or 2 or 4) to help take care of the animals. This would be a no kill shelter. Geez with us living in the country we have dump animals so I have been a rescue site of sorts!

    Liked by 1 person

Have a crazy thought? Please share!

