Cut off

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: When was the last time you felt really, truly lonely?

From Morguefile.com by user DodgertonSkillhause.

From Morguefile.com by user DodgertonSkillhause.

Loneliness.

I have always felt lonely to some extent. Why, I’m not sure. Perhaps it’s because I’m a middle child. Perhaps it’s because I’m the only girl child in a family with three children. Perhaps it’s because our family experienced a tragedy when I was young. Perhaps it has nothing to do with those things.

I often felt “left out” growing up with my brothers, as if they shared something (gender) that I didn’t have. I’m sure it’s why I was such a tomboy as a kid.

Loneliness isn’t always bad. I’m introverted, so I do need some time to myself to “recoup.” I have a lot going on inside my head – stories, anxiety, an insatiable desire to learn. I also have a lot going on outside of my head – knitting, playing the piano, writing, running. These multiple voices all yearn to be heard.

Loneliness isn’t always bad. What’s bad is too much loneliness.

7 thoughts on “Cut off

  1. I felt very alone in the middle of the night when I awoke with tears streaming. My blog explains why. Despite this though, I always have a zillion things at least (lol) going on in my crazy head! Nice post to read, thank you.

    Like

Have a crazy thought? Please share!

